Newbie silver advice

Discussion in 'Silver' started by mr-dead, Feb 11, 2012.

1. mr-dead

mr-dead Member

Hi, im a complete newbie at the silver stacking game and just started about a week ago.

Im based in the UK so the 20% vat takes some of the fun out it.

My first purchase was from a Guernsey online shop, a small purchase just to check them out. It was an Apmex 1/2oz year of the dragon round costing me 14.25 all in delivered.

After a lot of searching and browsing ebay on a regular basis I think ive picked up another 2 "bargains" but wanted some feedback if was going the right route or not.

My second purchase was a 5oz 999 silver commemorative coin from westminster mint, not nice and shiny like the Apmex but works out a good price per oz of 999 silver (slightly above spot)-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/270903509106?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

And my most recent purchase, another 20g 999 silver commemorative coin -

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/320842764020?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

The above two items both come with COA's so is this a cheap way to obtain silver if you can avoid the plated stuff or am I an idiot and should be sticking to trusted bullion dealers?

Any advice greatly appreciated :)

2. Water&Food

Water&Food New Member

Welcome to the Forums.

Buy from trusted SilverStacker members buddy - solves all your headaches.

Anyway, have a chat to member LADYBIRD whom is currently having a wee dip in Loch Ness. She has experience regarding VAT and Bullion.

Please fill in your location so others know where you hide in the world here.

3. SilverNash

SilverNash New Member

Sarniasilver I'm guessing right? I got the same dragon round, quite nice looking dragon.

4. possum

possum Member Silver Stacker

Hi and welcome.