Looking to start buying / Selling silver bars?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Silversun, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Silversun

Silversun New Member

Hey everyone ,

I am looking to Invest in silver bullion bars, however I am very new to the precious metal game and I am seeking some sound advice from people that have had experience with the trade process.

My Current situation is that i have $10 000 AUD and I am looking to invest that in precious metal. The reason why I am choosing bars over coins is because you get more bang for your buck per OZ and I am wanting to increase my profit margin as much as possible.

My Questions are

Which mint to purchase my bars from and what size bars should I invest in.

Should those bars be cast bullion bars or should they be minted bullion bars.? (keeping in mind that it is purely for investment purpose not collect ability)

who will I sell my bars to once I am ready to turn my precious metal into cash. ( I am currently living in Brisbane )

Or on the flip side i have also considered the PERTH MINT CERTIFICATE PROGRAM (PMCP)

But then rises a whole new set of questions.

which type of allocation should i invest in

Allocated

Allocated Pool

Un Allocated

From what information i have gathered on the program that is that Allocated has more substance and piece of mind because you have physical asset but you in incur storage fees and fabrication fees, pool allocated is ownership of precious metals in a pool with the perth mints other clients. (however if one wants to take physical delivery it will cost a fabrication fee of 50% of the applicable bar.)

Unallocated (un-segregated) Bullion You have title to precious metal deposited in a storage account. You pay only the precious metal cost at the time of your purchase. You pay No storage fees on this option. Unallocated metal shall be converted to Allocated metal within ten days of your instructions to do so (fabrication fees apply should you wish to convert from Unallocated to Allocated)