To keep AUD or to buy Silver?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by gelxi, Oct 14, 2011.

1. gelxi

gelxi New Member

Gday everyone, a bloke living in Australia here.

I'm fairly new to silver, and I've been observing the Silver trends for a few months and I was wondering would it be wiser to hold on to AUD than to buy Silver?

It makes sense to buy Silver if one is based in the USA and buying it with USD.

But to buy silver with AUD when Australia is a major exporter of metals makes less sense I reckon, since the strength of the AUD heavily relies on how the metal industry performs perform anyway, wouldn't it be better for Aussies like me to hold on to our AUD?

Would appreciate any comments/thoughts on this matter. Cheers.

2. 2eyedcyclone

2eyedcyclone New Member

Just going to sit on the fence for this one,
    I wouldn't blame anyone for doing either.
    Depends on your situation. If you don't currently own much/any silver maybe an ok time to get involved, but if you don't have much currency saved and are uncertain about your job in the future maybe just keep the AUD.
    Sorry if this doesnt help you!!!!

3. BBQ

BBQ Member

I have some silver because:
    * I have heard so many financial-types talk about getting out of dollars and into real assets.
    * I have zero faith in governments around the world to solve any problems (& the problems are huge)
    * I have zero faith in bank activities and wish not to share my power with them
    * I like having complete control of where my money goes and what it's used for.
    * I think I am immune to the volatility in silver prices by now (been about 1 year since I started)
    * I'm in it for the longer-term because I see the longer-term as bearing fruit.
    * I have no immediate need or use for the portion of money I put into silver.

If some of those reasons sound like you, I think it would be a good idea to put some money into silver, though of course the usual disclaimers apply...

4. LTEK4NZ