Need Help!!!!

Discussion in 'Numismatics' started by povman, Oct 11, 2011.

1. povman

povman New Member

I've had this coin for a while and not sure if it is a miss strike or something?
    Just wanted to tap into the wealth of knowledge the SS group have and if anyone knows if it is actually a miss strike or something else or is it just worth $1 aus??
    Any feedback will be much appreciated..
    Thanks in advance.
    Povman.

[​IMG][​IMG]

2. Mattlyndy

Mattlyndy Member Silver Stacker

I'm not an expert but i assume you are talking about the rim around the edge. I think you are right, but I am unsure if it would be worth much more than the face value, then again collectors of such things might pay good money for it.

3. Jislizard

Jislizard Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

[​IMG]
    Source: http://ezyapps.com/coins/$1_heads_1985.jpg

I don't know of any known varieties of 1985 dollars, this one I found on Google Images seems to look similar around the rim but I do not have any live coins to compare with!

4. pmfiend

pmfiend New Member

I found a 1985 $1 among my shrapnel. It does not have the "double rim" like yours.

5. povman

povman New Member

6. JDMseaweed

JDMseaweed Member

7. anonmiss

anonmiss Active Member Silver Stacker

Never heard of the double rim in the 1985, have read that the larger double rim is of value in the 2000 mintage so you might be onto a good thing. Keep us posted as you've got me curious now. Fingers crossed its a winner for you.

8. povman

povman New Member

Will do, next step is getting it valued by someone trustworthy.. Anyone know anywhere in Melbourne that would give a fair valuation??

Thanks for the advice people, much appreciated..

Povman

9. biconz

biconz New Member

Valuation