Need some advice for posting silver coins

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Bandit, Sep 12, 2011.

1. Bandit

Bandit New Member

Firstly apologies if this is in the wrong section. I'm looking for some advice on posting some silver coins I was about to sell, being a noob I don't have much of a clue when it comes to posting things. Also being new to sites like this one and Ebay, I don't want my first sales to result in negative feedback due to my poor effort packing it.

I've got 2 types I want to send, firstly just junk silver coins ( the type where the coin is nearly perfectly smooth and there is nearly no detail left on the coins but still years 1910-1915) secondly I have some better coins which would obviously need more attention ( I'm really lost on these ones).

I asked at the Australia post office in regards to the junk silver coins, and the advice there was to lay them flat between two small pieces of cardboard and staple the cardboard shut or use rubber bands. I'm looking to move about 10 x one shilling coins at a time to begin with. I'm just not sure if this would be considered acceptable and at the same time I don't want to go overboard on postage cost for junk.

What do you guy's think of their suggestion? Postage cost was about $5.60 registered this way. It was pretty much a registered envelope for under 250g and less than 5mm thick.

If anyone was packing anything, some photo's of how you yourself would do it would be nice, and any advice on the nice coins would also be great.

2. Elemental

Elemental Active Member Silver Stacker

Checkout Fishballs postage guide - details most of the methods available including the cheapest tracked and registered postage available (I think).

3. hiho

hiho Active Member Silver Stacker