1oz Koalas or Kookaburras?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Capitalist, Sep 10, 2011.

1. Capitalist

Capitalist New Member

Hi, I'm just starting to accumulate bullion because I think fiat will go to zero.

I'm going for smaller weights because 1kg bar will have low liquidity and be harder to barter with should the worst happen.

So I'm going for the 1oz stuff initially for practical purposes before going into the heavier stuff for better bang for buck investment purposes.

I will be buying gold too.

I don't care for numismatics because I'm strictly doing this to preserve wealth, not speculate on which coins will appreciate in value.

Will probably order directly from the Perth Mint (I'm in Sydney).

My questions:

Is it a Koala better than a Kookaburra? or are they the same?

Are there any useful tips you can give me (I'm just starting out)?

2. jedichampion

jedichampion New Member

Personally I like the kooks more

3. fishball

fishball New Member Silver Stacker

Kooks > Koala

4. Ag

Ag Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

At the same price Kooks would be better received,or command better resale than Koala's.

As I understand Kooks have a max production limit of 500K where Koala's are unlimited

5. finicky

finicky Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Just my view, and you'll probably find some here to contradict it, but why use the Perth Mint before you know the ropes? There are plenty of options - just look at the individual or the supplier offers here on the Buy, Sell & Swap board.
    Case in point: The Perth Mint offers 2011 Koalas for $59.50
    http://www.perthmint.com.au/catalogue/2011-australian-koala-1oz-silver-coin.aspx.aspx
    You can find better than that whether for Koalas or other products.
    Kooks seem better than koalas

6. jrbrans

jrbrans New Member

Hey mate, check out www.bullionclub.com.au