University Student in the States: Where to now?

Discussion in 'Silver' started by AndyPointO, Aug 9, 2011.

1. AndyPointO

AndyPointO New Member

SHORT STORY: College student. 61oz of silver, 1/10 oz gold. Is this where my money should be right now? This is strictly investment money; I have enough set aside in cash to cover all my expenses.

FULL STORY: I'm a sophomore at the Pennsylvania State University. Entered the investing game with Precious Metals in January 2011, started buying in the low 30's and high 20's. Got thrilled by the spike to $49.70ish, and rode the crash down to $34. Sold half my stack, figuring it would go lower. Ended up being the bottom, of course, so I sat out for awhile.

Started re-accumulating when it rushed $42 last week, in preparation for the debt ceiling fiasco. Passed up the opportunity for a $1,700 gold eagle. Shame.

I currently hold about 61oz of silver, and 1/10 oz gold. These are my only investments, and they account of about 1/3 of my financial worth. Being a university student, I have plenty of time for investments to mature, so I'm fine holding onto something for awhile. But am I in the right place? If I pull out now, I'll realize a $600 profit. I have plenty in savings, so financial need is not a factor. If I sell, I'll likely invest it one way or another.

Looking for opinions of the elders here. I'm willing to admit I'm not very knowledgeable here. I WILL do my own due diligence, and ultimately make my own decision, but I want to hear some other perspectives. Do I say in the PM market? If not, where else should I go? Looking for long-term profits.

Thank you!

2. spannermonkey

spannermonkey Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

That's a nice start,as Redback says
    Buy now cry later

3. mintydent

mintydent Member

Learn from your mistakes...next time don't sell, but buy the dip.

4. Old Codger

Old Codger Active Member Silver Stacker

Young Codgers have a HUGE advantage over Old Codgers!

TIME!!!