Inflation Tsunami - Top ten reasons to buy gold in 2022

Discussion in 'Markets & Economies' started by EON Bullion, May 10, 2022.

1. EON Bullion

EON Bullion New Member

I am a financial Risk Manager, This is my view on the top ten reasons to own bullion in 2022. Let me know what you think.
    Thanks
    Rory

Shaddam IV likes this.
  2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

Firstly, thank you for your post.

Now I'll let you know what I think.

1. Money supply did not contribute to the global inflation for commodity prices, that's a fallacy. Yes to asset prices, no to commodity prices. The bout of inflation we are experiencing is a supply/demand driven problem brought on initially by the pandemic which disrupted supply chains and reduced output, compounded by the war in the Ukraine and our highly interwoven global markets.

You mention Japan as an example, for the past 25 years Japan has been steadily increasing its debt yet the CPI has not kept track.

Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 8.25.35 am.png Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 8.26.41 am.png

In Australia the vast amounts of debt issued did not reach consumers, especially when compared to the US. Instead it either sits in ES balances at the RBA, or was lent to big business to purchase assets and of course the housing market which again of course benefits the big end of town as many of those mortgages have been bundled up into securities.

Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 8.39.55 am.png Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 8.38.16 am.png Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 8.38.32 am.png Screen Shot 2022-05-11 at 8.38.41 am.png

2. Ballooning debt. There is no intention of paying off debt. But that's besides the point, as explained above debt would lead to price inflation if the money entered the real economy. Which in Australia's case especially largely hasn't happened.