Young fella with income/life insurance & super questions

Discussion in 'Superannuation' started by phillis, May 20, 2013.

1. phillis

phillis Member

not too sure where to put it, but i guess it wouldnt hurt to put it here. Havent posted for a while either, the spot price has scared me off but i do a wee bit of stalking from time to time! :D

anyway, heres my situation. Im 26, i live out of home with my girlfriend and my dog, my rent is relatively cheap, we pay cash in hand to our landlord who are also family friends. We dont have any kids or dependents, nor are there any on the horizon. Im a welder earning approx. $45k before tax per year. Im paying $10k on a personal loan and about 4K on a credit card (snowballing my debt, not really struggling to repay it).

While i was still living with my parents and less informed about wealth preservation/creation, my parents insisted that i sign up on a joint life insurance/income protection policy. Ive had this policy for the last 3 years and have never needed it. Im not too sure why i have it to be honest. My statement that i just received says i have approx. $18k in my super fund. My fund is with North and my income protecting with AMP. The super statement is very in-depth about where all my money is invested, to the point where it is slightly overwhelming. what certain percentages are invested in which asset class, what property funds its invested in, which national and international companies its invested with, very confusing, yet interesting.