Advice on selling collection

Discussion in 'Silver' started by thedespatcher, Aug 20, 2019.

1. thedespatcher

thedespatcher Member

Hi All,

I've posted previously just recently asking for advice on selling my collection, just needed to clarify my post. I've been collecting for a while but I've never sold anything before. I've been advised to stay away from Ebay and stores / dealers, it was also mentioned I could find buyers here on the site which I wasn't aware of previously.

Obviously I'm not attempting to encourage any sort of illegal activity, but as I have no experience selling I am attempting to understand the laws around taxation, austrac reporting etc so I can fully comply with the law whilst at the same time sensibly and appropriately minimising the amount of unnecessary tax that I can legally avoid. I understand that austrac reporting is $5000 and "cumulative" however is this per year, month, lifetime etc?

After perusing the site I can see auction style posts, which I'm wondering if this might be the best way to go as I'm unsure of the value of my collection. Obviously I can check the spot price for my bullion however I still have no idea of the actual numismatic value of the proofs and more unusual sets that I have.

Should I just post them here auction style as I have no idea what to put on them aside from spot price? How does this work exactly? I just send the item registered post with signature required if somebody is interested? I'm sure most people are honest, but worst case scenario how do you guard against people potentially swapping fort a fake coin, saying you sent them a fake, tampering etc? Do you send the item first and just hope the person pays? what if they don't or the item is lost in the mail?

I have gold and silver bullion, perth mint and uk mint sovereigns, lunar coins, PAMP platinum and palladium, many themed sets.

2. 66rounds

66rounds Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Easiest way is to sell at a dealer.