Hand pour hobby thread pt2

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Antalon, May 4, 2019.

1. Antalon

Antalon Active Member Silver Stacker

Greetings stackers.
    Since the change on the forum it's been very hard for me to navigate with voice as i'm blinder than a bat on heroin. So please move this thread to the suitable forum if need be.

Just looking for some up coming backyard refiners, pourers and anyone who is interested in casting their own bars to share some knowledge, and pics..

Post if you're new at pouring, and have any tips for up and comers, or if you're an up and comer, please feel free to show us what you do. Hell, i'm still learning.

Show us how you do and how you cast..

I'll kick it off..

I refine my scrap and other silver with nitric acid / copper method and churn dust for smelt. Here is a new bar I poured a couple of days ago.. Strict oldschool wood pour.
    http://antbullion.com/2019/05/04/an...ol-wood-pour-fs-999-78-grams-2-5-troy-ounces/
    SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143711.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143716.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143734.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143739.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143754.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143758.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143819.JPG SURFACE - WIN_20190504_143822.JPG

Last edited: May 4, 2019
    hotchef72, Silver260, raven and 2 others like this.
  2. sonypony

sonypony Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi Antalon
    Great to see you back refining silver, I'm sure some of the older members here would remember your bars.
    I looked at going down the path of refining the way you do it with nitric acid etc but was put off by the chemicals, fumes and how one mistake could be costly etc. So I have a lot of respect for anyone doing this process because I know what's involved. It must be a great feeling producing 999 silver from scrap. Do you prefer to refine only 925 or are you able to do 80% or less scrap?