should I invest in bullion or graded "collectors" coins?

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by wnt, Apr 9, 2019.

1. wnt

wnt New Member

Hi everyone,

I've been wanting to invest in silver for quite some time, but really did not know where to start. My goal is long term investment.

In the realm of previous metals, I am a complete noob, so I apologize in advance for any obvious or simple questions I'm about to ask.

I'm having a hard time understanding how investing in silver bullion works. From the get-go, it seems like you are already loosing money in your investment. By this, I mean the premium one has to pay to buy x amount of silver rounds or x amount of Silver Eagles. I guess what I'm trying to ask is: how does one make a profit when you have to pay these premiums? Is it expected that, long term, the price of silver will simply rise past these premiums, thus allowing you to make profit?

From what I've gathered, it doesn't seem to make sense to buy (for example) one or two silver Eagles a month, as you are loosing a lot in the premium...it's more economical to buy in larger quantities. If this is correct, what is a descent amount of rounds/Silver Eagles people tend to buy at once to off-set the premium?

Secondly, I've noticed that there is quite a market for graded Silver Eagle coins. Since there is a "collectors" aspect to these coins, their price is no longer only tied to Silver spot price, but to their availability and age...is this all correct? If so, would this be a more sound investment?

I apologize if some of my questions are hard to answer. It's hard to consolidate all that I've read online, and I'm hoping you guys could give me a few pointers on how/where to start.

Thanks very much!

2. slavaja

slavaja Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

If your new I say get your silver close to spot. So low premium bars and rounds. Once you get the feel and understand precious metals a more you can buy higher premium stuff that you want to collect.