Thoughts on Lode?

Discussion in 'Digital Currencies' started by stackmans, Jul 1, 2018.

1. stackmans

stackmans Active Member

https://www.lode.one/

I have recently discovered this new silver backed crypto and am wondering what everyone thinks? I am a complete novice when it comes to digital currency.

Being backed by physical precious metals seems appealing to me and combining silver with crypto removes some of the "crypto isn't real money" worries. But it does seem overly ambitious to me that the company is attempting to create an independent currency.

2. whay

whay Well-Known Member

leo25 likes this.
  3. Checkingitout

Checkingitout New Member

I am new here, to the silver thing, but a long-time crypto geek: many crypto geeks have very poor opinions of all 'pegged' crytpos, stackmans, because it involves centralisation, that is, trusting that some guys have some silver, or other asset, somewhere safe.

So, I avoid all pegged instruments on principle

Last edited: Jul 3, 2018
  4. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

At a quick glance, without applying the Howey Test it looks like LODE Coin would be a security and AGX a utility. This may impact future investment decisions if the company issuing the currencies have not followed appropriate registration processes etc. Also, the links to both LODE and AGX at the bottom of the page do not work.

5. stackmans

stackmans Active Member

Yeah these are good points. I read some of the FAQs and they say if the company fails they will endeavour to return a maximum of 85% of your silver back. That’s crap. Also the point about decentralisation is a good one, to me it’s the overarching point of crypto. Their site never mentions what happens if the spot price of your stored silver was to increase, who keeps the profits?
    And the dead links scream unprofessional for a web based company.

Sounds too dodgy to me.

6. AllieC

AllieC New Member