How prevalent are molybedenum silver fakes?

Discussion in 'Fakes & Counterfeits' started by jerrygold, Dec 14, 2017.

1. jerrygold

jerrygold Active Member Silver Stacker

I've got some silver bars which seem nearly 100% correct from a density perspective but its incredibly hard to make them have that nice silver sound my other bars have. It seems to pass the magnet tests but not sure what my next step should be. Should I drill a small hole in it or just be happy that its density and specific gravity is pretty spot on? Anyone had any silver bars before that didn't make the nice ping sound?

2. StewyD32

StewyD32 Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

No need to drill and ruin your items. Take them to a bullion dealer or good pawn broker and they should be able to XRF it.
    Also local members here might be more than willing if they have a PMV or XRF machine

3. jerrygold

jerrygold Active Member Silver Stacker

Thanks for the advice StewyD32. I'm still quite new to this game. It seems if I hit them at the right angle they seem to make the sound but it is definitely harder than my other bars. I can't see how anything else can pretend to be 10.50grams and not be real silver so yeah. Outside getting them XRF'd I feel pretty confident as I have some decent measurement equipment.

StewyD32 likes this.
  4. Mint Silver Coins

Mint Silver Coins Well-Known Member

100% PEACE OF MIND METHOD FOR TESTING PRECIOUS METALS

I have done an enormous amount of research into counterfeit Coins. And as a result of this I have compiled a complete list of metals and their Specific Gravity's into an excel file, all you need to do is enter the dry weight and the wet weight of any % purity and of any shaped metal (even jewelry). Anyone who wants a free copy emailed to them please contact: Toni from "Mint Silver Coins".