received damaged bars question

Discussion in 'Silver' started by TRC17, Mar 29, 2017.

1. TRC17

TRC17 New Member

greetings. just received an order of royal canadian mint silver bars from sdbullion. i opened the box to discover the the edges of every bar are dinged up/dented -they are a bit unsightly. i contacted customer support and they responded by saying the damage was within mint guidelines for quality and they do not seperate the bars based on appearance. i am relatively new to this and am wondering if this is so or am i right to be unhappy about this? i was told i can return the bars at my own expense but that there is no guarantee that any of the other bars they have would be any better. i am also wondering about what are the chances of receiving counterfeit bars? any advice would be appreciated. thanks

2. Lunardragon

Lunardragon Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I never get any ding/dent on RCM minted silver bar here (aust).

In general, we pay more premium to get a minted bar rather than a cast bar. This is why they called a minted bar.

Imho the dealer needs to accept it back at their expense as their product does not meet the description?

Never deal with this dealer, but buying bullion from a registered dealer will give you more assurance that the product is genuine. Nevertheless, you can do tests for the purity if you want. Plenty of methods in Youtube (just dont use acid test as it will stain the bar)

Good luck and welcome to the forum :)

[LD]

3. TRC17

TRC17 New Member