NZ Mint Silver Fern .999 1 oz coins & ABC bars?

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by Ronnington, May 7, 2020.

1. Ronnington

Ronnington Member

Hi all,

I'm a newbie Silver stacker having only just started buying Silver bullion from January this year :) I'm looking forward to reading, learning and contributing where I can on this forum going forwards :)

So far I've bought American Silver Eagles, Perth Mint coins & bars, and ABC 1kg bars.

What are your thoughts on the New Zealand Mint Silver Fern .999 1oz Silver coins - worth buying? Are they a quality product that will be easy enough to sell if/when that time comes and what sort of % below spot price can I expect for them?

and ABC bars?

Best regards

2. Drake181

Drake181 Active Member Silver Stacker

SilvaMozzie likes this.
  3. Ronnington

Ronnington Member

4. GF

GF Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I think NZ Mint stuff is great. In my experience I bought at spot and traded at spot plus 5% so not a big margin but the increase in spot gave me a profit.

It is my belief that if you are a "stacker" you wont be bothered by what mint from where. Instead accumulate as much as possible for the lowest possible price. Difficult, I know as most of us are collectors as well.

5. Ronnington

Ronnington Member

Thanks, that's great

I might add some to my stack then

During these tough/interesting economic times, how many Ozs/Kgs do you recommend to stack? As much as you can get/store?

6. GF

GF Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I recommend whatever you want. Ask yourself why you are stacking, set some goals and budgets and get to it. Set some "rules" as well...like % over spot your are prepared to go etc.

PS. Work out where you are going to store your metal. Dont tell anyone you are stacking. Get a PO Box or send metals to your work, never to your home.

7. Silverman99

Silverman99 Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi Ronnington and welcome to the forum from a fellow kiwi stacker