Tips please: what to collect in silver?

Discussion in 'General Precious Metals Discussion' started by Jonasdundee, Feb 16, 2020.

1. Jonasdundee

Jonasdundee Member

Hi,
    Noob here hoping for some tips. Want to start collecting silver coins. I am intrigued by 'unusual' sizes, so 2oz and bigger. Have heard a lot that lunar collecting is not interesting anymore due to the high mintage. Not a fan of old coins, would like new stuff, nice and shiny :)
    I don't expect to get rich with it but value keeping with a minor upside chance.

Any other ideas what would be a good thing to start collecting, assuming it might be international - Bhutan? Queens Beasts? And if international, what the best place to order from?

Thanks in advance!
    Cheers

2. Jason1

Jason1 Well-Known Member

if you want shinny pretty Silver items, then expect to lose your arse on them, that stuff is for collectors not so much investor factor.
    most of the time its a crab shoot on what will retain its premium and what wont. But if you want it for collecting and dont care about the money, Just buy what ever you like.

If your into silver for investment then you just buy the dirty old, boring old low premium bars as close to metal price as possible.

Oddjob and greg8049 like this.
  3. bubblebobble2

bubblebobble2 Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

Wrong section.. we HV silver section

4. slavaja

slavaja Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

If you don't want to lose on premium just stick with low premium stuff. Most of my high premium stuff has lose its premium overtime. The best bang for your buck is pre decimal silver which is currently trading 10% below spot with no takers. I have recently picked up some at 15% below spot.

Last edited: Feb 16, 2020
    jultorsk and GF like this.
  5. Calendyr

Calendyr Member