Newby wanting advice

Discussion in 'Silver' started by Ennisvale, Oct 12, 2019.

1. Ennisvale

Ennisvale New Member

Hi guys
    I’m new to the precious metals scene and just wondering if there are any brands of silver bullion to steer clear of?
    I have purchased a Baird and co bar but I am wondering it’s a good mint or not.

JOHNLGALT and Number 47 like this.
  2. Ennisvale

Ennisvale New Member

3. SteelHand

SteelHand Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Perth Mint (Aus)
    Queensland Mint (Aus)
    ABC Bullion (Aus)
    Ainslie Bullion (Aus)
    Royal Mint (UK)
    Royal Canadian Mint (Can)
    Scottsdale Mint (US)
    SilverTowne Mint (US)
    Sunshine Mint (US)
    Republic Metals Corp - RMC (US)
    Asahi Mint (US)
    Monarch Metals (US)
    Geiger Metals (Ger)

That should get you going.......

66rounds likes this.
  4. GoldenEye

GoldenEye Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

What's more important is where you get it from, as there are many fakes out there. My list of places in order of safety is:
    1. Refiners such as the Perth Mint.
    2. Bullion dealers such as Bullion Now and Gold Stackers, in Melbourne.
    3. Members on this Silver Stackers forum with lots of good trader history. Not 100% safe, but this can be offset by the usually lower prices and occasional good deal.
    4. Stay away from places such as eBay and Gumtree.
    Also, if you're not buying from refiners or dealers you should learn some PM testing techniques. I expect that having a Sigma Precious Metal Verifier would cover most of your needs, but they are expensive. If your're prepared to learn some new skills you can get a lot of testing done using equipment costing less than $20. I've detected a lot of fakes using things such as small $10 pocket scales, magnets and water (for a density test). I have been lucky so far, and have always been able to get a refund when I've detected a fake.

5. jultorsk

jultorsk Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

6. JohnnyBravo300