Which crypto currency becomes the future payment system

Discussion in 'Digital Currencies' started by bron.suchecki, Nov 28, 2018.

1. sgbuyer

sgbuyer Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I’m a novice in cryptos, but can’t you have 5 Super fast servers owned by different entities performing the same transaction at the same time?

For example, fb, visa, master, PayPal, eBay all running the same transactions and the transaction will complete based on the speed of the slowest server?

2. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

How many confirmations are needed at an absolute minimum? For example as an analogy, as a deterrent to theft I could build a 12 foot high electric fence around my house, fill the back yard with a pack of forever hungry Dobermans and marry a 125kg gutter tramp who spends the day waddling around the proximity of the front gate in her $9 sun dress munching on a 6 pack of Dunkin' Delicious donuts while I'm at golf, but it would come at a cost - a cost that may not be necessary nor willing to bear for my security.

3. willrocks

willrocks Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

BTC is normally 6 confirmations. The howmanyconfs.com site compares how many confirmations alt coins require to equal the security of Bitcoin’s 6 confirmations.

4. sgbuyer

sgbuyer Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Zuck has opened the pandora box, waking up authorities around the world to the existence of cryptos and now everyone will be rushing to push out regulations for cryptos. In the meantime, Libra will be getting free publicity.

5. Oddjob

Oddjob Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

As I'm not a FB user, I only read today that whilst FB have been developing the concept for their own crypto for over a year now, that they banned adds for crypto's on FB some 12 months back.....if so, sneaky sh#ts.

JOHNLGALT and willrocks like this.
  6. JOHNLGALT

JOHNLGALT Well-Known Member