Tips: Selling in USA

Discussion in 'USA & Canada (Public)' started by GreatSouthernTime, May 28, 2019.

1. GreatSouthernTime

GreatSouthernTime Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Hi Stackers.

I am new to stacking and wanted to get some advice on selling in USA.

I am visiting USA in August and rather than use my cards and be hit with big transaction and transfer fees I was thinking of taking some of my metals and selling when I arrive, either privately or to a dealer.

Does anyone have any tips for selling coins and bullion in USA, specifically West Coast?

Any advice, do’s and don’ts would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

2. pmbug

pmbug Active Member

Selling metal at a coin dealer is pretty easy and painless (and safe), but the price for that is that they pay you slightly less that what you could get from a private sale. Note that there is a difference between a coin shop and a pawn shop. You want a coin shop if you are selling.

3. GreatSouthernTime

Thanks. Google search shows a few around LAX and a number more up the pacific coast. That was my first thought but was looking at alternatives.

Appreciate the info.

4. oddpour

oddpour New Member

You're going to get the worst possible prices by just going to a random coin shop, dealer, etc. - it's common they offer you $1 under spot even for hand pours that you know carry an easy premium. Instead, what I would recommend:

1. Look for a coin show happening when you're in the area, as you'll find collectors there who know what the actual value of your metals are including their premiums. https://coinzip.com/index.php?state=CA (random Google hit)