Faceting my own gems.

Discussion in 'Jewellery & Gems' started by silversearcher, Oct 22, 2017.

1. silversearcher

silversearcher Active Member Silver Stacker

I've been learning how to cut gemstones for several months. It has always been an ambition of mine since a teen to learn how to facet. The first stone took ages to cut ( 19 CT citrine ). I didn't have a clue what I was doing for several weeks, but now after several months it's full steam ahead. Onto the second stone, which is nearly finished a light lemon citrine. It's a earlier photo I took after demonstrating faceting at a local show recently. Both gems are stones that I have found. The first stone took about 5-6 weeks to cut during 4 hour sessions on Saturdays, so I reckon there was 24 -28 hours work. As with the second stone so far about 10 hours work and another 2-3 hours to finish the polishing of the crown.

Citine.jpg Lemon.jpg

m3sca1 and Greg Williams like this.
  2. Golden Monkey

Golden Monkey Active Member Silver Stacker

Wow that’s incredible i have never taken much thought on this craft!!!! Good on you for sharing this.

3. BenKenobi

BenKenobi Well-Known Member

Well done Silversearcher,