World coins question

Discussion in 'Silver Coins' started by kiona, Apr 12, 2017.

1. kiona

kiona Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

I recently bought some bulk lots of world coins... nothing overly special but since I'm new to silver it's been fun going through them. Most of the coins have 50% - 80% silver content. I don't think any single coin is worth more than $10-15. Anyway, at this stage I'm more interested in their aesthetic appeal rather than value or rarity.

What is the best way to protect and display the coins that I want to keep?
    Capsules?
    2 x 2 cardboard holders?
    Plastic sheets with pockets?

(please forgive me if I'm using incorrect terminology but hopefully you know what I'm referring to)

Also similar question for the coins that I want to move on again... should I put them in cardboard holders and price individually, or maybe in small groups according to country or silver content, or just bundle them up into a bulk lot and let the next person enjoy going through them?

Finally, everything I have read so far about coins is "never, ever, not under any circumstances, clean them". Does it really matter if they're relatively cheap common coins? I understand "patina" and some are quite nicely toned so I can see reason for not cleaning them. But others just look scruffy and you can't clearly see the details. I so badly wanna give 'em a good scrub till they're clean and shiny!
    Is this really a shameful crime??!! :eek: or just do it anyway and blame the kids? :rolleyes:

2. projack

projack Well-Known Member Silver Stacker

Once I bought a large box of silver coins just like you did around silver spot price or less. Nothing was special value amongst them except one coin. I sold that single coin for more, what I paid for the entire large box of silver.

kiona likes this.
  3. Coins A-Z

Coins A-Z Active Member