Question from new investor

Discussion in 'Platinum' started by BullionQuestions, Dec 26, 2016.

1. BullionQuestions

BullionQuestions New Member

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this. I have questions. Thank you in advance for reading this.

I have about $15k that I can invest at this point. I have plenty of other assets (real estate mainly) and I'm interested in adding some metals. I already have some metals I got quite a while ago (about 20oz of Pt eagles, 10oz of Au Krugerrands).

I'm thinking that now would be a good time to buy Pt. My logic is: Pt is about the lowest it has been in ten years right now. It's lower than gold, which is unusual. One long-term problem with Pt is that we may be using less of it for catalysts as we use less oil. What does this group think?

I was looking at ways to buy platinum. Let's compare spot, bullion price, and coin price. Right now, on Kitco, we have:

New York spot price, selling: 896.00
    Kitco sale price, per ounce, bar: 941.94
    Kitco sale price, Pt maple leaf: 981.69
    Apmex sale price, Pt eagle, qty 10: 1,098.99

In terms of spot:

Spot: 100%
    Kitco, pt bar: 105% of spot
    Kitco, Pt maple leaf: 110% of spot
    Apmex Pt eagle (qty 10): 123% of spot

My understanding is that the various coins have no numismatic value. I fully understand there are costs of minting and distributing them. I fully understand that a quality coin such as an Eagle has better liquidity than a bar, because you don't really need to assay or weigh the eagle to buy it. And I appreciate the beautify of these coins.