Maps & Mapping

Discussion in 'Prospecting & Detecting' started by 10ozhound, Aug 24, 2014.

1. 10ozhound

10ozhound Active Member

G'day all,
    After a search or two on mapping I thought we might aswell have a thread to share knowledge.

Recently I've been enlisted with the job of charting a map for a venture.
    Looking for a program/app that can be used for this.
    Also keen to discuss anyone's experience with web based map creators etcetera.

I currently use a simple yet buggy app called "my maps" it uses google of course and allows me to draw lines and add place markers at points with descriptions.

Any one know of or have experience with other types?

2. smk762

smk762 Active Member Silver Stacker

I'm a cartographer by trade. The best freeware geographic information system (GIS) software is Quantum GIS (QGIS). It's available in beta for android last I looked, and will import GPS data into a desktop environment.
    A worthy mention also goes to OziExplorer for portable devices ($25 last I checked). For web-based stuff, check out www.govhack.org/howto#geographical-data-tools
    Good luck, happy to lend a hand if needed to get you started (or in exchange for silver if you need more than that ;)

3. mmm....shiney!

mmm....shiney! Administrator Staff Member Silver Stacker

4. Maxwell

Maxwell New Member

Sorry, slightly off topic....

I rang the state government map supplier to buy some paper maps in 1/25000 scale in an area I metal detect, I have multiple GPS's, but have always preferred a paper map in a waterproof folder with me as well.

Anyway, I get through to "customer service' and the customer service officer asks me what I want them for. I told him I own land in the area, and I want the maps, mentioned it wasn't really any of his business. He then replies, I don't think that's an acceptable reason ???